New to the forums or the TauLabs project? Let us know about yourself or what you are working on in here.
no avatar
User

CrashMaster

Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm

Hello! I'm a droner turned mini quad addict

by CrashMaster » Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:03 am

I'm hoping some of you can help me get started with taulabs from openpilot.
I'm a total noob. I've basically configured a 250 cc3d copter and went as far as TxPID, which went well.
However, whenever i connect to CC3D in the OP GCS the basic configuration check box is always checked.
I have no idea if the advanced PIDs are actually being used.
Also, I'd like to try TauLAbs FW and GCS.
I installed the GCS but the driver won't install on my laptop for some reason. Any suggestions?
Should I move to TauLabs? It seems OP has all but died and there is very limited documentation that I could find.
Thanks in advance!
:D
no avatar
User

williamyjk

Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Hello! I'm a droner turned mini quad addict

by williamyjk » Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:41 am

What version of Windows are you using?

CC3D uses release 15.02.02. Please verify that you are using this version.

When you install the the OpenPilot GCS does a pop-up window appear that states that the windows drivers are about to be installed?
no avatar
User

CrashMaster

by CrashMaster » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:34 pm

Hi William- thanks for the quick Reply! It pops up the window and when I hit next it gives and error with redX and port conflict.
I dug around the forum and found a note about timing synch issues between windows and the driver. What worked was to reboot windows with the cc3d already plugged in. I was using 15.02.2 as you said but I managed to get configured on tau now.
I'll run through txpid tuning this weekend I think unless there is a better way to tune now, other than auto tune. I'll try that at a later date... Sound scary.
no avatar
User

PT_Dreamer

Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:01 pm

by PT_Dreamer » Fri Nov 20, 2015 1:18 pm