Discussion for the Tau Labs android application
no avatar
User

greenspeed

Posts

43

Joined

Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:18 am

Can't connect to Quanton

by greenspeed » Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:29 pm

I can't get the android GCS to connect, either via USB or 3DR, on my Galaxy S4 or my Nexus 10. Both methods work fine on my Win7 pc. Any tweaking or diagnostic tips greatly appreciated.
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by pug398 » Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:11 pm

Android gcs default telemetry speed is 57k so both 3dr modems need their interface set to 57k. Set telemetry port on quanton to 57k. Make sure rx/tx pins to quanton radio are connected correctly. Rx>Tx and Tx>Rx. Choose serial interface under android gcs settings port. Cannot load uavo set message means a mismatch in versions. Better to get that than no message when trying to connect. Probably a few other things as well...

3DR v1 or v2 radios?

Oops just realized you had it working with pc... V1 and v2 radios are different gcs
no avatar
User

greenspeed

Posts

43

Joined

Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:18 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by greenspeed » Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:35 am

I can't even get a USB connection on android. FWIW, the 3DR device description and ID on the pc is Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge USB\VID_10C4&PID_EA60&REV_0100
no avatar
User

ernieift

Posts

193

Joined

Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:21 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by ernieift » Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:10 am

I have an old JY-MCU for BT connections. It is hard set to 115200Bd. It ignores the desired connection rate. So i set the telemetry port to 115200 and all is fine.
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by pug398 » Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:53 pm

Haven't heard of a 3DR radio using the CP2102 but it may be something new. As far as I know there has not been a release of android gcs with that driver or particular vid/pid pair.
no avatar
User

greenspeed

Posts

43

Joined

Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:18 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by greenspeed » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:33 am

What can I do to troubleshoot connecting via USB cable?
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by pug398 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:13 pm

Now realize you probably mean direct usb connection to android device. Always used a win laptop with direct usb and never tried the other way. Can't recall any previous mention of direct connection via android usb either. Not sure it supports that.

The cheap ttl>bluetooth module is the quickest way to get android connection just very little range.
no avatar
User

greenspeed

Posts

43

Joined

Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:18 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by greenspeed » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:26 pm

I need guidance on troubleshooting my Galaxy S4, and also my Nexus 10 tablet, being unable to connect to my Quanton board using a USB-OTG cable. Are there any android apps that might be useful for diagnosing this? Any GCS tips/tricks?
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by pug398 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:56 am

Unless a developer says otherwise I don't believe it was ever intended to be connected that way. Android can connect by either serial radio connected thru OTG cable or bluetooth (built into device). On the flight controller side a uart set to telemetry would be connected to either a serial radio module or a bluetooth module.
User avatar
User

peabody124

Posts

1339

Joined

Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: Can't connect to Quanton

by peabody124 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:43 pm

I thought at one point I added Quanton to the list of VIDs so you can use HID to direct connect to the board. It's certainly not how I intended to use it but it should work. What version are you running?
Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB ® | phpBB3 Style by KomiDesign
cron