Talk about sensors, OSD systems, radios and anything else related to electronic hardware.
User avatar
User

metRo_

Posts

178

Joined

Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:26 pm

3DR Radio - Configurations

by metRo_ » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:14 pm

What configurations do you use on the 3DR Radio?
User avatar
User

CheBuzz

Posts

57

Joined

Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:19 pm

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by CheBuzz » Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:41 pm

An excellent question. I have tried about all the permutations I could think of but always got a bunch of transaction failures. I didn't dig into it any further than that.

I have a couple Xbees that I tried on it and worked without issue.
User avatar
User

peabody124

Posts

1339

Joined

Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by peabody124 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:34 pm

My working theory for this is that the 3DR radio does not handle duplex communication very well, which causes problems when initially connecting because we request lots of data.
User avatar
User

metRo_

Posts

178

Joined

Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:26 pm

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by metRo_ » Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:07 pm

peabody124 wrote:My working theory for this is that the 3DR radio does not handle duplex communication very well, which causes problems when initially connecting because we request lots of data.


but after that yours work good?
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by pug398 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:22 pm

just thought I would let you know that I have tried firmware versions 1.5 thru 1.9 on the 3DR radios and I cannot get solid communication on any of them. Not only do transactions fail on bootup but consistently fails to report key parameter changes during flight. No problem with wired or Bluetooth radio link so so have to assume it is 3DR radio problem. Going to try xbee to verify I can get a good link and then maybe look at the cheaper TI based modules.
User avatar
User

metRo_

Posts

178

Joined

Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:26 pm

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by metRo_ » Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:54 pm

But was someone that get very good results with it, is yours an original or like mine from hobbyking?
no avatar
User

Danveal

Posts

24

Joined

Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:52 pm

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by Danveal » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:15 pm

Hi to all,
I use this configuration with the FlyingF3 connected via uart 5. My modules ( rctimer ) are at 433 Mhz. Last year worked well, then I stopped flying because there was the problem of the cpu overload occurs with high gyro rate (760).
I waited until the Metro pull request to solve this problem was merged in the next.

Image
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by pug398 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:38 pm

I would check the ECC and Mavlink box on the local side and then copy items to remote and send. Check to see if it took. The rest all looks like standard configuration. Double check telemetry speed in GCS options and telem speed under module settings to make sure both are 57k. In the screenshot if local radio loaded the remote radio settings then it should be ok.
User avatar
User

peabody124

Posts

1339

Joined

Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by peabody124 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:00 pm

pug398 wrote:just thought I would let you know that I have tried firmware versions 1.5 thru 1.9 on the 3DR radios and I cannot get solid communication on any of them. Not only do transactions fail on bootup but consistently fails to report key parameter changes during flight. No problem with wired or Bluetooth radio link so so have to assume it is 3DR radio problem. Going to try xbee to verify I can get a good link and then maybe look at the cheaper TI based modules.


I know chebuzz saw no problem with xbee.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: 3DR Radio - Configurations

by pug398 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:06 pm

metRo they came from neither one of those but probably same as HK. Look and see if they are same as yours. Peabody seemed to think the data looked good as far as logging but I do not like the lag in reporting operating parameters or missing flight mode switch position changes. Bluetooth (short range) works good and if I can duplicate performance with a longer range radio I would be happy.
Attachments
20140407_175244.jpg
20140407_175244.jpg (3.2 MiB) Viewed 3236 times
Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB ® | phpBB3 Style by KomiDesign
cron