Talk about sensors, OSD systems, radios and anything else related to electronic hardware.
User avatar
User

pieri70

Posts

116

Joined

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:08 pm

Location

Trieste, Italy

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pieri70 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 6:47 pm

On this page it says that the GPS has 5V VCC
https://pixhawk.org/modules/pixhawk
So I'll solder the 5v pad.
And no power supply on the mag uart
Thanks
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:51 pm

Anybody knows: magnetometer 883L and HM5883L - it is same model?
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pug398 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:08 am

I believe it is compatible and other forums claim the HMC5983 will drop in also. I cannot guarantee it because none of mine are marked with those numbers. I do have L883 and works fine.
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 7:32 am

pug398 wrote:I believe it is compatible and other forums claim the HMC5983 will drop in also. I cannot guarantee it because none of mine are marked with those numbers. I do have L883 and works fine.

What controller do you use?
After switched to external magnetometer quanton not booted until wires was plugged incorrectly. Now all plugged and configured as need, but quanton still using on-board compass and when i am moving gps module nothing happens.
User avatar
User

pieri70

Posts

116

Joined

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:08 pm

Location

Trieste, Italy

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pieri70 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 7:48 am

Same here (quanton), My mag module has a mark I883 on the first raw and 2412 on the second.
Same behaviour when wires are swapped. Mag on uart3.

Strange thing it's marked "I883" not "L883", that could be "L883" in lower form or "i883" capitalized.
But i883 is not listed as magnetometer on the web, while "L883" can be found anywhere as mag

Do you have the I2C mark of some different color than grey in hardware display?
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 9:19 am

Exactly same situation. i2c button is grey.
User avatar
User

pieri70

Posts

116

Joined

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:08 pm

Location

Trieste, Italy

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pieri70 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 9:34 am

Tried just now and external mag don't work..
Uart3 set both I2C and external mag..
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:08 pm

Looks like bug in fw/gcs. Could anybody investigate this?
User avatar
User

guilhermito

Posts

155

Joined

Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by guilhermito » Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:39 pm

All I can say is that I use a quanton with external mag without issues, about investigating issues regarding a particular module it sounds difficult since the guys who write the code probably don't have every kind of possible module to test with
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:00 pm

May be you can open gps module and post here your magnetometer model?
PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB ® | phpBB3 Style by KomiDesign
cron