Talk about sensors, OSD systems, radios and anything else related to electronic hardware.
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:19 pm

Hello all.

I`m really impressed with Taulabs firmware and already using cc3d with taulabs code on my warpquad. Now i want to migrate to Quanton on my big quadcopter with 14'' props and 400kv motors.
As i know, big motors produces lot of interference and quanton onboard magnetometer can work poorly. I bought Ublox neo-n8m GPS module with integrated magnetometer and want to switch quanton to external magnetometer using.

Has Quanton/taulabs this possibility? How I can enable it?


Thx.
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pug398 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:08 am

If it is a 5883 mag on the gps module it should work on I2C. Under hardware tab you can set uart3 to I2C. Then for external mag you choose ext mag on uart3. If the mag is on the bottom of the gps then under mag orientation you will need to choose one of the "Bottom" settings. If the chip is mounted on top of the gps module then choose one of the "Top" settings. Which one depends on how the axis of the chip lines up and it seems easier to just try all 4 until heading correctly indicates North as North and tracks correctly. Reboot after each try. Be aware that unless the code has changed, if the settings are saved and the mag is not connected correctly the board will not boot. If that happens usually it is because data line reversed or you did not jumper the power pad for that uart. If you get hung up then "rescue" the board and do a safe boot into default settings and try again. When trying different orientation the heading can be a bit off without calibration so if none of the settings seem right you may need to do a 6 point calibration behind each orientation setting change. First get it functional on I2C and booted then worry about orientation. Only 4 possibilities so not too time consuming... :)
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:45 am

Many thanks for your answer! I will try.
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:28 pm

Only 5883 magnetometer will work on i2c bus? How about HMC5983 or 883L?
User avatar
User

peabody124

Posts

1339

Joined

Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by peabody124 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:22 am

It looks like we have drivers for most of those sensors: https://github.com/TauLabs/TauLabs/tree ... iOS/Common

However, it appears than the code only attempts to probe for an HMC5883:
https://github.com/TauLabs/TauLabs/blob ... ard.c#L636
no avatar
User

brat002

Posts

95

Joined

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by brat002 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 1:17 pm

How i can check external magnetometer in GCS?
I connect wires from magnetometer to quanton.
Config:
uart1 - i2c,
magnetometer - Externali2cUart1

and nothing changed. Quanton was succesfully booted, but when i turning GPS module with compass - virtual quadcopter not moving.
User avatar
User

pieri70

Posts

116

Joined

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:08 pm

Location

Trieste, Italy

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pieri70 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:22 pm

May be a little ot but I want to connect a crius GPS v2 Ublox 7m that is coupled with a magnetometer. There are 2 plugs one with 2 wires and one with 4. I think the 2 wires plug is for magnetometer and the 4 one for GPS tx/rx + power supply. Do you know the voltage I must set to the GPS uart on quanton? I think that GPS was for apm/Pixhawk..
Thanks
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pug398 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:53 pm

@brat002
Make sure the mag is getting power and perhaps sda may need to be swapped for scl. I used uart3 but would not expect any different behavior on uart1.
no avatar
User

pug398

Posts

700

Joined

Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:26 am

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pug398 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 5:01 pm

@pieri70
From off the 'net it looks like the one you are describing does have the mag on the 2 wire cable. The description also says it has a 3.3v LDO regulator in which case it sounds like it would take 5v supply but really don't know anything about it. You would have to check out the apm/pixhawk schematics to see what exactly they use for supply voltage.
User avatar
User

pieri70

Posts

116

Joined

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:08 pm

Location

Trieste, Italy

Re: External magnetometer on quanton

by pieri70 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 5:02 pm

Ok thanks pug I'll see..
Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB ® | phpBB3 Style by KomiDesign
cron