Running TauLabs software on hardware that isn't supported? Work with others to get a new platform supported.
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by jihlein » Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:54 pm

Starting to see signs of life on this board. Board LED is flashing at 1 Hz, and the ground station recognizes the board (used device ID 0x93 for now), so it looks like the first set of changes are functioning at some level. The port is based on Sparky, and can be found at https://github.com/jihlein/TauLabs/tree/Naze32Pro

I have the PWM mapping figured out, and the serial port mapping. Need to sort how to use MPU6000, HMC5983, and MS5611, all on SPI2. There's also an EEPROM chip on SPI2, but I'll stick with the emulated EEPROM for now. I'll add these to the above GIT branch once coded and tested.
User avatar
User

shred

Posts

287

Joined

Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:50 am

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by shred » Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:57 pm

Nice work! I assume for the SPI, it uses separate GPIO pins on the stm32 to select the device. You can find from the baseflight firmware which pins they are.

Keep in mind that the Naze32 is closed hardware, so it won't be merged into Tau Labs proper. Also, it is quite limited in terms of memory (20kB, sparky: 40kB, quanton: 192kB), which will limit what you can do with it.
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by jihlein » Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:18 pm

These boards have the STM32F303CC, 256kB flash, 48kB ram. Should have the same performance as Sparky. The "Pro" version, while not widely available, went to the F3 processor and SPI sensors, as compared to the F1 processor and I2C sensors on the normal verison. But still closed source for sure.

I have the boards on hand, so it's a great learning exercise if nothing else.....
User avatar
User

shred

Posts

287

Joined

Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:50 am

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by shred » Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:28 pm

I see, I wasn't aware that it uses an F3. It's definitely a good learning exercise and maintaining a fork that keeps up with TauLabs/next isn't hard.
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by jihlein » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:20 pm

I've finally had some time to get back to this. I have the sensors working, but there is some odd behavior I can't get to the bottom off. The sensors are MPU6000, HMC5983, and MS5611. All sensors are on SPI2.

Occasionally, I get a sensors alarm indicating the MPU6000 read did not occur on time. It's not often, but I do see the GCS status box for the sensors change from green to red momentarily.

I can make this go away by commenting out the MS5611. Since the MPU6000 and HMC5983 reads are interrupt controlled and the MS5611 is not, could there be some sort of SPI bus contention going on with the MS5611 reads? If so, is there anything that can be done about it?

Or have I overlooked something else?

EDIT:

One additional thing. This board has a 12 MHz external oscillator. When setting up the RTC parameters, I can't get an even 625 Hz with the dividers available. I can go slight above, or slightly below. Would one be better than the other? Could this be related to the above issue?

Code: Select all
   //.prescaler = 25 - 1, //  8MHz / 32 / 16 / 25 == 625Hz
   //.prescaler = 37 - 1, // 12MHz / 32 / 16 / 37 == 633Hz
   .prescaler = 38 - 1, // 12MHz / 32 / 16 / 38 == 617Hz


Thanks in advance!!
no avatar
User

Gaijin

Posts

9

Joined

Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:53 am

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by Gaijin » Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:58 am

At last, you have shone some light on The Naze32Pro I have languishing in a drawer, I'm looking forward to trying this out..

I'm not much of a coder though, any chance you could pre-compile the firmware for flashing, I may even have a suitable test frame kicking around
Will I need to use DFUse or can I use the TauLabs GUI to flash it?
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by jihlein » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:26 pm

You will need dfuse to flash the bootloader, then the flight code can be flashed via the GUI.

I'm still debugging, but when I get something I think works, I can build the installer package for you.

Sensors seem to be working, but I can't get anything to function on the serial ports. Think I found out why, will test shortly.
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by jihlein » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:59 pm

It's alive! At least partially.

Have all the sensors working correctly, GPS, and DSM2 receiver.

Need to test PWM outputs, external magnetometer, and adc inputs.
no avatar
User

Gaijin

Posts

9

Joined

Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:53 am

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by Gaijin » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:13 pm

Again awesome, thanks jihlein
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: TauLabs on Naze32Pro

by jihlein » Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:46 am

Tested the motor outputs and the single PWM input. All appear to work as expected.

Went and ran thru a quick setup of a quad configuration and it looks like its flyable.

I'm not sure what the single PWM input in the Sparky board was intended for. I can set it up as RC input number 8 and drive it from an ultrasonic range finder PWM output. I'm not sure how a rangefinder was intended to be setup, but for now it at least reads it.

The only thing that does not work are the ADC inputs. Enabling those crashed the board. So I need to troubleshoot that.

And I need to make some cables to test the external mag.

Then maybe I'm ready for a flight test.
Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB ® | phpBB3 Style by KomiDesign
cron