Development discussion of TauLabs software such as flight controllers, sensors, radios and speed controllers.
User avatar
User

dandys

Posts

53

Joined

Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:25 pm

Location

Czech republic

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by dandys » Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:34 am

Hi holzleim and welcome!

Sorry to hear it doesn't work for you. I'm not sure what can be wrong. Did you tried different UART (flexiport)? Do you have any other taulabs compatible fc (or at least STM32F3/F4 discovery kit) to test? Or different receiver (or different X8R firmware version)? You've already measured X8R polling requests with oscilloscope, could you also sniff data? It should be packets two bytes length sended in approx 13ms interval. First byte is always 0x7e, second byte is alternating and you should see 0x1b at least once.
User avatar
User

Holzleim

Posts

28

Joined

Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:41 am

Location

Germany, near Bonn

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by Holzleim » Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:37 pm

Hi dandys,

thanks for helping me.
I connected the scope again and measured at the Sparky2 main port both Rx and Tx.
Rx: green
Tx: yellow
I could observe the expected 57.6k baudrate, the 0x7e flags and the 0x1b as you said.
But Sparky2 just doesn't answer.

Can I lookup variable or something via the CGS?
I have PicoC running. Should I used this to debug why the controller doesn't answer?
Anyhow, I'll try later a different UART. At flexiport I have currently GPS running, so I didn't try that until now.

I have no other flight controller, Sparky2 is my first and only one.
Attachments
s.port_scope_01.png
s.port_scope_01.png (108.89 KiB) Viewed 3218 times
no avatar
User

mundsen

Posts

54

Joined

Sat May 02, 2015 6:14 pm

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by mundsen » Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:16 am

I have made a inverter and tested that it works fine when using an d4r-II and the Sparky2 in FrSky hub telemetry mode.

Have not been able to get telemetry (s.port) when using an X4R in combination with the same inverter (I know the telemtry pinouts on the RX not are the same, so I have corrected that when replacing the RX)
no avatar
User

jihlein

Posts

97

Joined

Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by jihlein » Thu Jul 23, 2015 12:01 pm

You need a different inverter for SmartPort. An inverter that works for sensor hub will not work for SmartPort, but a SmartPort inverter will work for sensor hub. The reason for this is that the SmartPort inverter has to be bi-directional. There's a circuit diagram here:

https://github.com/TauLabs/TauLabs/wiki ... -telemetry
User avatar
User

Holzleim

Posts

28

Joined

Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:41 am

Location

Germany, near Bonn

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by Holzleim » Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:26 pm

I just tested with the S.PORT being connected to flexi-port and the GPS to main-port, but the same picture:
At Rx of Sparky2 UART a clean, high-active signal is present, but at it's Tx no activity.
I just looked up in the GCS a list of active tasks, and here I saw that the task "UAVOFrSkySPortBridge" is not active.
Might this be the reason for seeing no UART Tx?
What depends this taks on? Is is not running because of something other being wrong?
In what part of the code can I look up such relations?

Thanks,
Thomas
Attachments
tasks.JPG
tasks.JPG (168.74 KiB) Viewed 3175 times
User avatar
User

dandys

Posts

53

Joined

Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:25 pm

Location

Czech republic

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by dandys » Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:50 pm

Thomas, I think I've discovered the problem. There is missing define PIOS_INCLUDE_FRSKY_SPORT_TELEMETRY for sparky2 target (in flight/targets/sparky2/fw/pios_config.h). I will try and create pull request with fix tomorrow.
User avatar
User

Holzleim

Posts

28

Joined

Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:41 am

Location

Germany, near Bonn

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by Holzleim » Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:57 pm

Hi dandys,

hey, that'sreally good news.
So that means I have not to setup development environment to fix it myself, but instead it will be intergrated in an intermediate release?
Good to hear that. Then I will concentrate on finishing and optimizing the other parts of the quad like FPV, so there is no hurry for me to wait for a skarky2 firmware version that includes the needed define.

Thanks again,
Thomas
User avatar
User

dandys

Posts

53

Joined

Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:25 pm

Location

Czech republic

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by dandys » Fri Jul 24, 2015 7:03 am

Hi Thomas,

pull request is up: https://github.com/TauLabs/TauLabs/pull/1743

You can test Jenkins autobuild when finished.
User avatar
User

Holzleim

Posts

28

Joined

Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:41 am

Location

Germany, near Bonn

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by Holzleim » Sat Jul 25, 2015 7:14 am

Hm, I tried yesterday evening, but at first glance it didn't work.
The task is still not running.
Do I also have to update GCS?
User avatar
User

dandys

Posts

53

Joined

Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:25 pm

Location

Czech republic

Re: FrSKY SmartPort telemetry

by dandys » Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:36 am

Holzleim: You're right, Makefile record was missing. Should be fixed now. Sorry for that!
PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB ® | phpBB3 Style by KomiDesign
cron